Team Scuderia Ferrari
Base Maranello, Italy
Power Unit Ferrari
Car Ferrari F14 T

Scuderia Ferrari



By whatever standards you judge Formula One™, the name ‘Ferrari’ is synonymous with the sport. Created by the 'Commendatore', the unique figure of Enzo Ferrari, the Scuderia is the only team to have constructed its entire car, engine included, throughout its Grand Prix racing history. It has done so since 1950, when the World Championship began.

Ferrari is the only team with over 200 victories, over 200 pole positions and over 200 fastest laps. No team has won more Constructors' titles than Ferrari’s sixteen. No other team has seen fifteen of its drivers crowned World Champion.

Ferrari’s first Grand Prix win came at Silverstone, in the British Grand Prix of 1951 the Argentine driver Froilan Gonzalez, 'The Pampas Bull', took victory. Other legends have included Albert Ascari, who won Ferrari's first World Championships in 1952 and 1953; the peerless Fangio carried on the tradition in 1956; and the iconic Gilles Villeneuve, who won six times for the Scuderia between 1978 and 1981 and gave his life in a Ferrari in 1982.

However their record combined cannot match the legendary Michael Schumacher. When the German joined the team in 1996, they had barely scored a dozen wins in a decade. By the time Michael took his sabbatical from the sport at the end of the 2006 season, he had claimed five titles driving for the Scuderia and 72 of his record 91 victories came during his Maranello years.

Ferrari’s most recent world champion driver, Kimi Räikkönen, won the title for the Scuderia in 2007. The team also won the Constructors Championship that year and in 2008, but Felipe Massa was cruelly denied his title by a single point gained by Lewis Hamilton on the last corner of the last lap of the last race of the season.

This year Kimi Raikkonen is back at the Scuderia, after a brief sabbatical from Formula OneTM and two seasons at Lotus. In one of the big surprises at the end of the last season, the Finn committed to a return to Maranello alongside Fernando Alonso, the man who replaced him back in 2010.

In theory at least, Ferrari have two of the fastest, hardest-racing drivers of the 2014 World Championship in their team. However, the big question will be, do they race their rivals or one-another? It is going to be fascinating to find out!